Elephants

Asian or African?

Bahini and Sumita are Asian elephants.  They have got small ears and very small tusks which you hardly can see. Only adult Asian elephant bulls get long tusks. Asian elephants are also called Elephas maximus. They live in India, Nepal, India, Thailand, Sril Lanka …

Hella

This is “Hella”, a female Asian elephant at Zoo Budapest

African elephants have got big ears. Not only adult elephant bulls, also female African elephants have got tusks.  African elephants are also called Loxodonta africana. They live in many countries in Africa.

Tonga

This is “Tonga”, a female African elephant at Zoo Vienna (Tiergarten Schönbrunn)

Ivory

Ivory is a hard, white material, derived from the tusks of elephants. There are great stuff and art work made of ivory. But you cannot just cut off the tusks, you have to kill the elephant to get its tusks. Because of the killing of adult elephants lots of elephant babies get orphaned in Africa every year. Do not buy any stuff made of ivory, please!

Elefanten

Asiatisch oder Afrikanisch?

Bahini und Sumita sind Asiatische Elefanten. Sie haben kleine Ohren und ganz kurze Stoßzähne, die man kaum sieht. Bei Asiatischen Elefanten haben nur erwachsene Bullen lange Stoßzähne. Asiatische Elefanten werden auch Elephas maximus genannt. Sie leben in Nepal, Indien, Thailand, Sri Lanka …

Hella

Das ist „Hella“, eine Asiatische Elefanten-Kuh im Zoo Budapest

Die Afrikanischen Elefanten haben große Ohren. Nicht nur Bullen, auch die Elefanten-Kühe bekommen lange Stoßzähne. Afrikanische Elefanten werden auch Loxodonta africana genannt. Sie leben in zahlreichen Ländern in Afrika.

Tonga

Das ist „Tonga“, eine Afrikanische Elefanten-Kuh im Tiergarten Schönbrunn in Wien

Elfenbein

Elfenbein ist ein festes, weißes Material. Stoßzähne von Elefanten bestehen aus Elfenbein. Aus Elfenbein können viele Dinge produziert und geschnitzt werden. Man kann die Stoßzähne eines Elefanten aber nicht einfach so abschneiden, man muss die Tiere dazu töten. Jedes Jahr werden in Afrika zahlreiche  Elefanten-Babys zu Waisen, weil ihre Mütter getötet werden. Bitte kauf keine Produkte aus Elfenbein!