Rhinos

How many horns? 1 or 2?

Indian rhinos have got only a single nasal horn. Both males and females have got a single horn, baby rhinos are born without a horn. The horn of indian rhinos in captivity is often worn down to a thick knob.

Sundari

This is Indian rhino girl “Sundari” at Zoo Vienna (Tiergarten Schönbrunn)

They have a thick skin and large skin folds . Their upper legs and shoulders are cover edwith wart-like bumps. Indian rhinos have very little body hair, aside from eyelashes, ear-fringes and tail-brush. Males develop thick neck-folds. They live in protected areas in Northern India and Nepal. Indian rhinos are also known as Greater one-horned rhinoceros, Asian one-horned rhinoceros and Rhinoceros unicornis.

Jange

Male Indian rhino “Jange” at Zoo Vienna (Tiergarten Schönbrunn)

Ohr

“Jange’s” ear-fringes

Wimpern

“Jange’s” eyelashes

You can find rhinos in Africa, too. They are called Black rhinos and White rhinos.  They have no large skin folds and no wart-like bumps. They have got two horns on their nose. White rhinos are also called Ceratotherium simum . Black rhinos are also known as Diceros bicornis.

Breitmaul-Nashorn

White rhino at Sóstó Zoo (Nyiregyházi Állatpark)

Vocalization

Indian rhinos have a wide variety of vocalizations like rumbling, honking, bleating and snorting. They “talk” to other rhinos this way but also to their keepers. At Zoo Vienna you can hear Sundari often snorting and bleating around.

Listen to Sundari at Zoo Vienna (MP3, recorded at Zoo Vienna 2011):

You can also download this MP3 for free: Panzernashorn Sundari Laute

Indian rhinos in zoos

Have you ever seen an Indian rhino in a zoo? Find a list of all zoos in Europe where you can see Indian rhinos on the website –> Rhinos-in-Europe

Rhino horn is no medicin!

Some humans think rhino horn might be some very special medicin. They are wrong. Rhino horn consists of pure keratin like your finger nails! You can’t just cut off the horn, you have to kill the rhino to get its horn. Lots of rhinos are killed because of their horn every year in Africa. Many baby rhinos get orphaned. Please, don’t buy any products made of rhino horn!

© Fotos: Jola Belik; Mag Cornelia Belik; MP3: Jola Belik

Nashörner

Wie viele Hörner? 1 oder 2?

Panzernashörner haben nur ein einzelnes Nasen-Horn. Sowohl erwachsene Weibchen als auch Männchen tragen ein einzelnes Horn. Baby-Nashörner kommen ohne Horn zur Welt. In menschlicher Obhut wetzen sich viele Nashörner das Horn bis auf einen kleinen Stumpf ab.

Sundari

Das ist Panzernashorn-Mädchen „Sundari“ im Tiergarten Schönbrunn in Wien

Ihre Haut ist dick mit großen Falten. Auf den oberen Beinen und den Schultern sind sie mit warzen-ähnlichen Knubbeln bedeckt.  Sie haben Haare an den Ohren und an der Schwanzspitze sowie dichte Wimpern. Panzernashörner leben in  Schutzgebieten im Norden Indiens und in Nepal. Man nennt sie auch Indische Nashörner und Rhinoceros unicornis.

Jange

Nashorn-Bulle „Jange“ im Tiergarten Schönbrunn

Ohr

Ohr von „Jange“

Wimpern

Wimpern von „Jange“

Es gibt Nashörner auch in Afrika. Diese Nashörner nennt man Breitmaulnashörner und Spitzmaulnashörner. Sie haben ein glatte Haut ohne Hautfalten und ohne Knubbeln. Sowohl Männchen als auch Weibchen haben zwei Hörner auf der Nase. Breitmaulnashörner werden auch Weiße Nashörner und Ceratotherium simum genannt. Spitzmaulnashörner nennt man auch Schwarze Nashörner und Diceros bicornis.

Breitmaul-Nashorn

Breitmaul-Nashorn im Sóstó Zoo (Nyiregyházi Állatpark)

Nashorn-Laute

Panzernashörner sind recht kommunikativ, sie geben verschiedenste Laute von sich wie beispielsweise knurrende, hupende, blökende Laute etc. bis hin zum Schnauben. Sie kommunizieren so nicht nur untereinander,  sondern auch mit Zweibeinern. Sundari im Tiergarten Schönbrunn hört man oft schnauben oder laut vor sich dahin meckern. Sie begrüßt auch ihre Betreuer und Betreuerinnen je nach Situation mit unterschiedlichen Lauten. Hier kannst Du Dir anhören, wie das klingt:

Nashorn-Laute von Sundari (MP3, Tiergarten Schönbrunn):

Du kannst Dir die Nashorn-Laute auch runterladen: Panzernashorn Sundari Laute

Panzernashörner in Zoos und Tiergärten

Hast Du schon ein Mal ein Panzernashorn gesehen? Auf der Website –> Rhinos-in-Europe findest Du eine Liste mit allen Zoos und Tiergärten in Europa, die Panzernashörner halten.

Nashorn-Horn ist keine Medizin!

Manche Menschen glauben, dass gemahlenes Nashorn-Horn eine ganz besondere Medizin ist. Das stimmt nicht. Nashorn-Horn besteht aus Keratin, genau so wie Deine Fingernägel.  Man kann das Horn von einem Nashorn nicht einfach so abschneiden, man muss das Nashorn dafür töten. In Afrika werden jedes Jahr viele Nashörner getötet, um ihr Horn zu bekommen. Viele Nashorn-Babys werden zu Waisen. Bitte kauf keine Produkte aus Nashorn-Horn!

© Fotos: Jola Belik; Mag Cornelia Belik, mit freundlicher Genehmigung; MP3: Jola Belik